Prescription Drug Abuse Awareness Night

Rx Awareness Night - 11.12.14CLICK HERE for flyer

On September 20 Sciocchetti & Abbott, PLLC, in partnership with Prospect Mortgage Corp., held the First Annual Charity Hike to Benefit Drug Awareness at Prospect Mountain in Lake George.  Proceeds raised at the event were to be directed to fund prevention programming – an area which, unfortunately, does not receive a great deal of governmental funding. ACCA was selected as the primary beneficiary of this fundraising effort. As a result, a series of customized prevention workshops/seminars for students and parents in the Capital District will be presented in the coming months. 

Guilderland has been selected as the venue for the kickoff of this program.  The first of a two-part series will be held on November 12 at the Guilderland High School LGI Room from 5:30 PM – 8:30 PM. This program is FREE and will focus on prescription drug awareness and the dangers associated with abuse of opiate pain medications as a gateway to heroin addiction.

The general outline for the evening is as follows:

5:30-6:00     Pizza, salad and beverages served

6:00-8:00     Program - will include parent of addict, prevention education counselor, signs/symptoms of drug abuse, young person in recovery

8:00-8:30     Q&A period

Part Two of this series in Guilderland will be held on February 25, 2015, and will include representatives from the law enforcement and medical fields.  A survey will be taken by those in attendance on November 12 in an effort to ascertain additional areas of concern within the Guilderland community.  February’s program will be further customized based upon responses to the survey.

Drunk With Hope In Chicago

“What’s a nice girl like you NOT drinking in a place like this?”

Hope is here! And she’s not alone. Tara Handron, the playwright and sole actor in her 60-minute play, discards clichéd representations of recovery and alcoholism and relies on complex characters and richly layered stories to expose the raw emotions so many alcoholic women experience. Handron’s back-to-back portrayals of over 15 female alcoholics (some sober, some not) of all ages, ethnicities, and socio-economic backgrounds come out of Handron’s own research on the subject, in face-to-face and computer mediated recovery meetings, as part of her thesis requirement in the Communication, Culture & Technology master’s degree program at Georgetown University.  Trained at NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts and the Second City in Chicago with many theatrical roles to her name, Handron brings talent and education to the stage as well as humor, poignancy, and a fresh voice to the once taboo subject of the female alcoholic.

Tickets are $10 and proceeds will benefit women in recovery at the Addictions Care Center of Albany (ACCA) and The Next Step, Inc.

To purchase tickets, print and complete a ticket order form by clicking HERE.

Flyer - Drunk With Hope - REVISED

Trick Hoops & Alley Oops to Support Albany Youth

CLICK HERE to print flyer with coupon!

CLICK HERE to purchase tickets online

Harlem Wizards VS ACCA Flyer - WITH COUPON

Video Cover

Dreyer Boyajian LLC
BankDirect Capital Finance
Habana Premium Cigar Co.
Pine Street Capital Partners
WellCare Health Plans
Austin & Co.
Granite Premium Funding
Meridian Capital Partners
National Grid
Nigro Companies
Omni Development Co.
BBL Hospitality / Recovery Room
B95.5 FM & JAMZ 96.3 FM


  • Sheriff Craig Apple, Albany County Sheriff’s Office
  • Michael Beyer, Albany College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences Basketball
  • Honorable Dorcey Applyrs, Albany Common Council
  • Don Applyrs, KIPP: Tech Valley Charter School
  • Cat Calsolaro, The Standard
  • Ed Corless, ACCA
  • Bill DeFrancesco, CDPHP
  • Rich Hurley, Troy HS Varsity Basketball
  • Commissioner Jonathan Jones, Albany Department of Recreation
  • Michael Lasch, Pine Street Capital Partners
  • Honorable Dan McCoy, Albany County Executive
  • Honorable John McDonald III, NYS Assembly
  • Bob Muncil, COOL Insuring Agency
  • Brian Mulvey, CDPHP
  • Chad O'Hara, B95.5 FM
  • Matt McLaughlin, Bishop Maginn High School
  • Minister Michael Poindexter, Metropolitan NTM Baptist Church
  • Michael Reilly, Energy Insurance Brokers
  • Chris Rusiecki, Energy Insurance Brokers
  • Mayor Kathy Sheehan, City of Albany
  • Brian Sinkoff, Prudential Manor Homes
  • Shawn Spratt, CDPHP
  • Keith Stack, ACCA
  • Anya Tucker, WTEN
  • Guy Waltman, Family First Fitness
  • J. Will, JAMZ 96.3 FM

Fast Facts HW













































90 McCarty Avenue | Albany, NY 12202 | 518.465.5470